Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

WiRNS 1.1.3
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:10 pm    Post subject: WiRNS 1.1.3 Reply with quote

New update:

http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNS.1.1.3.22968.msi

IMPORTANT!!! Do NOT Upgrade if you're running a version older than 1.1.2.14760. Too many changes to the database, configuration and application.

Make a backup of your current database and shellcmds if you'd like, and then remove or install to a different directory.

1.1.3.22968 - 10/11/2004
1. Fixed service - changed to threaded Windows service for fast startup.
2. Fixed restarting server and configuration server via the web page.
3. Vacuuming the database is now a command-line option, also runs prior to a guide update.

1.1.2.24445 - 10/10/2004

1. Removed service startup from install script. Click on the "Start WiRNS Service" icon in the start menu.
2. Added Last Guide update time on Guideserver page.
3. Fixed Dish PPV

1.1.2.14760 - 10/01/2004

1. Clear channel lineup prior to guide updates for Zap2it channel changes - no deleting wirns.db for channel changes anymore
2. Select number of days to update the Channel Guide
3. Using OnDemand's Free WinInstall LE 2003
4. Installer version for Win9x/ME and WinNT/2K/XP


1.1.2.13979 - 09/30/2004

1. Added Windows 2k/xp service capabilities:
1. Dynamic locations for wirns.log, wirns.db & wirns.sql.log
2. Application and Plugin logging to wirns.log file instead of console logging

2. Packaged in installer file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This release has an issue when I get to the Configure Replay's step. I've re-started the service and reload the web page. The Configure Replay returns a Page can not be displayed, or when using Mozalla, a blank page.

I'm running XP, and have a 4500.

Thanks
Cliff

I understand the requirment to have the service stable before you (or kjac) starts tweaking features, but when that day comes, the head end remapper would be VERY nice.

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: new setup? Reply with quote

With the new version installed, I get "Connection was refused when attempting to contact 127.0.0.1:8923" when I try to configure.

Netstat indicates no listing for port 8923 when Wirns is running unconfigured.

Gotta be something simple.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. I saw a problem when I did the "restart configuration server" via the web page.

What happens when you stop & start the service, either via the start menu icons or via the service manager? That seems to work for me. Other than that, the service seems stable.

For now to monitor, you could use what's up gold or mrtg to monitor port 80 & the configuration port. I believe what what's up gold can run in the system tray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried stopping the service and restarting. I've tried several computer re-boots, with firewall and Norton off, and keep getting the same results.

Also, get the same refusal when I try to log into the WirnsIP, so I can't access it that way either.

This was, of course, all working smoothly in the earlier version....

Appreciate your attention and any suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.. Make sure the service is stopped in the service manager and make a copy of the log file.

Then, run it as an app via the "start wirns application" icon & lemme know what happens.
_________________
WiRNS.com
Aetherial Photography
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lostt
Almost hooked


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I upgraded to it last night and been having problems with channel guide updating right with zap2it. any idea why that is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow, I've gotten into the config window.

Now the problem is I can do the Wirns config, but when I select to do the Replay update, the window goes blank....

Is this anything (from the log file)?

[2004-10-12 17:09:12] Plugin: Finisar.SQLite.dll failed to load.
[2004-10-12 17:09:12] Plugin: GuideServer.dll failed to load.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

naughticl wrote:
Somehow, I've gotten into the config window.

Now the problem is I can do the Wirns config, but when I select to do the Replay update, the window goes blank....

Is this anything (from the log file)?

[2004-10-12 17:09:12] Plugin: Finisar.SQLite.dll failed to load.
[2004-10-12 17:09:12] Plugin: GuideServer.dll failed to load.


Ahh... These 2 lines can be ignored. I forgot to delete those from the plugins directory. They're references in the WiRNS directory and should be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I couldn't make it work. Have cleared it and reverted to the earlier version. I'll try again later.

Lemme go on record... when it works, it's a great add-on to Wirns, being able to run it quietly in the background has been very easy to get used to!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfr131
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gave me an error that OS does not support window services, need WIN NT. my os for this server is 98SE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New update:

Thank you very much for the feedback! It is very much appreciated and I hope to keep being able to add to this great program that Kjac gave us!

WinNT/2K/XP:
http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNS.1.1.4.17378.NT.2K.XP.msi

Win9x/ME:
http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNS.1.1.4.17378.9x.ME.msi


IMPORTANT!!! Do NOT Upgrade if you're running a version older than 1.1.2.14760. Too many changes to the database, configuration and application.

Make a backup of your current database and shellcmds if you'd like, and then remove or install to a different directory.

1.1.4.17378 - 10/13/2004
1. Found out that the complier sometimes "forgets about code". Re-fixed service/server.
2. ** Added system tray service monitor/controller for WinNT/2K/XP.
3. Split installer back out to 2 packages. One for Win9x/ME & 1 for WinNT/2K/XP

1.1.3.22968 - 10/11/2004
1. Fixed service - changed to threaded Windows service for fast startup.
2. Fixed restarting server and configuration server via the web page.
3. Vacuuming the database is now a command-line option, also runs prior to a guide update.

1.1.2.24445 - 10/10/2004

1. Removed service startup from install script. Click on the "Start WiRNS Service" icon in the start menu.
2. Added Last Guide update time on Guideserver page.
3. Fixed Dish PPV

1.1.2.14760 - 10/01/2004

1. Clear channel lineup prior to guide updates for Zap2it channel changes - no deleting wirns.db for channel changes anymore
2. Select number of days to update the Channel Guide
3. Using OnDemand's Free WinInstall LE 2003
4. Installer version for Win9x/ME and WinNT/2K/XP


1.1.2.13979 - 09/30/2004

1. Added Windows 2k/xp service capabilities:
1. Dynamic locations for wirns.log, wirns.db & wirns.sql.log
2. Application and Plugin logging to wirns.log file instead of console logging

2. Packaged in installer file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

** 1.1.4.17378 - 10/13/2004

So far so good. Running on XP, 4500 series RTV.

I had a few unexpected exceptions during config, mostly when using the icon deally (nice) to start the service. The icon never allowed stopping the service though. (Greyed out).

I needed to re-start the monitor after the config steps, seemed to lose it somwhere along the config process.

I've updated my guide and have loded the web page guide remotely, so as far as I can tell, it's working OK. I'll force a RTV update when I get home to watch that step.

Thanks!
Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that.. I thought that was fixed.

Packages with updated service monitor (same as before):

http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNS.1.1.4.17378.NT.2K.XP.msi
http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNS.1.1.4.17378.9x.ME.msi

-----------------------------------------
Updated Service Monitor (Manual Install):

http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNSMon.zip

Once again, thanks for your support!

Ryan
_________________
WiRNS.com
Aetherial Photography
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigjohn
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a little hand holding please....

step by step - I'm running 1.1.2-1285 - I think that was Kjac's last build...

I want to upgrade.

What do I need to do?
_________________
Make a difference!

Value hosting, Personal service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bigjohn wrote:
a little hand holding please....

step by step - I'm running 1.1.2-1285 - I think that was Kjac's last build...

I want to upgrade.

What do I need to do?


The best thing to do is to either delete the old WiRNS directory and start over or install to a different directory.

Ryan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigjohn
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so I have to enter all the data on my RTV units again?
_________________
Make a difference!

Value hosting, Personal service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rbolen70 wrote:
Updated Service Monitor (Manual Install):


Seems to be running OK. Of course I haven't done a re-config.

Thanks to you for restarting the Wirns development, after kjac got busy with 'real life'.
Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drWaLLs
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 149
Location: Valdosta, GA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Make a backup of your current database and shellcmds if you'd like, and then remove or install to a different directory.


What all should we back up...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

drWaLLs wrote:
Quote:
Make a backup of your current database and shellcmds if you'd like, and then remove or install to a different directory.


What all should we back up...?


You should make a copy (zip) of wirns.db and/or zip the entire directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bigjohn wrote:
so I have to enter all the data on my RTV units again?


It's not too bad after you've done it a couple times. I make sure that I have my IP'd in front of me and the serial # in my windows cliboard to save typing it.

Perhaps, before too long, there will be s seperate table or way to export/import the (static) configuration values. (hint)

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbolen70
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 1945
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added some menu options. Please let me know what you think.

Just unzip the 3 files to your WiRNS folder.

http://www.users.qwest.net/~bolenbaughryan2/WiRNSMon.zip
_________________
WiRNS.com
Aetherial Photography
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigjohn
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just gotta luv it when developer types get a woody for code...
_________________
Make a difference!

Value hosting, Personal service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problems that I can find. Looks good.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed. Latest version runs smoothly for me too.

Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigjohn
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TO Do list conflict resolution is still screwed up...

does the "repeat" flag work yet?

Can we see a log of actions somewhere, like in the old dos window?
_________________
Make a difference!

Value hosting, Personal service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
naughticl
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 1:33 pm    Post subject: and while we're at it... Reply with quote

It would also be handy to have a command from the taskbar icon to open the WirnsIP window as well as the Configure window. Just a thought...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfr131
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I must have missed something. I have it installed and have downloaded a new guide to my Replay. But in Wirns, the todo list is empty? Shouldn't it pick-up any tasks from the Replay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bigjohn
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfr131 wrote:
I must have missed something. I have it installed and have downloaded a new guide to my Replay. But in Wirns, the todo list is empty? Shouldn't it pick-up any tasks from the Replay?


did you follow the steps in the readme? did you add your replay units?
_________________
Make a difference!

Value hosting, Personal service
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfr131 wrote:
I must have missed something. I have it installed and have downloaded a new guide to my Replay. But in Wirns, the todo list is empty? Shouldn't it pick-up any tasks from the Replay?


I find that running a new guide download sometimes helps. It seems to be a bit of dark art after setup to have everthing synch up. You have to do all of the configs. Try another guide download.

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group