Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't get IVS set up on WiRNS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:30 am    Post subject: Can't get IVS set up on WiRNS Reply with quote

I have WiRNS running at two different locations. Each has a separate ISP, IP address, etc.

The first location is running fine, except the puny i5 processor is definitely overworked.

I have a newer and faster PC at the other location, and it has been running WiRNS for a few years to provide guide data to the 3 RTVs on that LAN.

One thing I could never get working is IVS on the second WiRNS machine. I want to get it working so that poopli will recognize the box and list the shows on it. AFAICT, both WiRNS systems are configured exactly the same way. The routers and firewalls have the ports open for the WiRNS box. And even the WiRNS log files indicate that its show listings are successfully uploaded to poopli.

Here is the output from poopli on the "Manage Replay TVs" page:

Name Serial Number ISN Last Guide Upload (PDT) Recordings Last IVS test (PDT) Result Delete?
RTV5516A5AA7353049 00004-67153-07056 2017-09-21 06:18:48 1 2017-09-21 06:06:38 no unit found with this ISN in the database

There is nothing in the "Name" column, and I've figured out that the text in the "Result" ("no unit found with this ISN in the database") is not a poopli message because I get the same message on the IVS tester.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks!
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you verify that under your COnfiguration, IVS tab, that Update RDDNS with local ISN: is checked?

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did it!

I'm always amazed at how much power a single bit can have.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 664

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL. I was stumpted by that little check box before myself. Glad it's working for you.
Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
barmar
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 15 Jun 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's an old story (from the days of IBM mainframe computers) of a technician being called to a customer site, and after being informed the problem he flips a switch on the front of the computer, which solved the problem. He sent them a bill for something like $500. When they asked how he could charge so much for just flipping a switch, the response was that he's not charging for flipping the switch, but for knowing which switch to flip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

barmar wrote:
There's an old story (from the days of IBM mainframe computers) of a technician being called to a customer site, and after being informed the problem he flips a switch on the front of the computer, which solved the problem. He sent them a bill for something like $500. When they asked how he could charge so much for just flipping a switch, the response was that he's not charging for flipping the switch, but for knowing which switch to flip.

LOL, and that holds true for most things in life. Folks often wonder why they have to pay a craftsman (eg, plumber, guitar tech, etc, etc) so much for only doing 30 mins of work, where, if it was so easy, why didn't they do it themselves? The answer being (a) they'd probably screw it up, and (b) even if they were able to do it, it would probably take them all day to do it.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jonwz
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
barmar wrote:
There's an old story (from the days of IBM mainframe computers) of a technician being called to a customer site, and after being informed the problem he flips a switch on the front of the computer, which solved the problem. He sent them a bill for something like $500. When they asked how he could charge so much for just flipping a switch, the response was that he's not charging for flipping the switch, but for knowing which switch to flip.

LOL, and that holds true for most things in life. Folks often wonder why they have to pay a craftsman (eg, plumber, guitar tech, etc, etc) so much for only doing 30 mins of work, where, if it was so easy, why didn't they do it themselves? The answer being (a) they'd probably screw it up, and (b) even if they were able to do it, it would probably take them all day to do it.


That's the "do-it-yourselfers" dilemma.

At this point in time, I think all (or certainly most) RTV users are DIY'ers.

Good thing they are so incredibly robust.
_________________
Owned three upgraded 3xxx's - currently using two 5xxx's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group