Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RDDNS status down
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know WiRNS, but since no one has spoken up, you can always add this to your hosts file. (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) to force things to backup-1


67.41.76.188 backup.rddns.cc. rddns-production.replaytv.net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Glenn1963
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 1175
Location: Castlegar, BC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a wirns.hosts file in the WiRNS folder, and an IVSProvider.hosts file in the WiRNS/Plugins folder, although it would surprise me if they weren't already configured.

There would be entries like this:

# RDDNS Backup Servers
rddns-production.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc

#
rddns-production.laho.percdata.com=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.laho.percdata.com=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.laho.percdata.com=backup-2.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.laho.percdata.com.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.laho.percdata.com=backup.rddns.cc

The .hosts files are all joined into one hosts list, so you shouldn't need to configure both wirns.hosts and IVSProvider.hosts.
_________________
G

"I did absolutely nothing, and it was everything that I thought it could be."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is a wirns.hosts file in the WiRNS folder, and an IVSProvider.hosts file in the WiRNS/Plugins folder, although it would surprise me if they weren't already configured.


But WHERE do I find these WIRNS folders? Ive looked in Program Files and there is no WIRNS file there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
I don't know WiRNS, but since no one has spoken up, you can always add this to your hosts file. (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) to force things to backup-1


67.41.76.188 backup.rddns.cc. rddns-production.replaytv.net.


So, I navigate to the hosts file location and add the 67.41 etc. to that folder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for now, just change the backup.rddns.cc to backup-1.rddns.cc and it should work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
for now, just change the backup.rddns.cc to backup-1.rddns.cc and it should work fine.


Thank you, but I don't know how to do this. Please be more specific.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I am seeing in the logfile for all 4 of my machines:
Quote:

[DNS] Returning 192.168.1.158 for rddns-production.replaytv.net to 192.168.1.43
[9/4/2016 09:39:59] [PLUGIN] IVSProvider received an update request from ISN 00004-54832-59868(192.168.1.43), port 29500
[9/4/2016 09:39:59] [PLUGIN] IVSProvider failed to update ISN via RDDNS. Perhaps it is down...


So, I don't think it is looking at the backup server?

Can anyone confirm?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both backups down again
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

734jeant wrote:
rmeden wrote:
for now, just change the backup.rddns.cc to backup-1.rddns.cc and it should work fine.


Thank you, but I don't know how to do this. Please be more specific.
backup-1 came up so rmeden's suggestion has worked for ivsm on my three comp and im waitng to see if poopli concurs. all u need to do jean is the same way poopli got restarted.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nixoda
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the up/down status indicators on wirns.com accurate? Even lunatic haven is reporting ivs is up. I haven't used it lately; summer tv is worse than ever this year. But with the exception of the true outage a month or so ago, I''ve not noticed any issues. How is this manifesting itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rddns server went down with replaytv so thats wrong. backup one works so thats right. backup 2 is down so thats right. this one shows all three servers correctly http://replaytvupgrade.com/cgi-bin/ivstest.pl half of my rtvs go thru backup2 and report on poopli as down but report as working on this link after directing to backup one.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
734jeant wrote:
rmeden wrote:
for now, just change the backup.rddns.cc to backup-1.rddns.cc and it should work fine.


Thank you, but I don't know how to do this. Please be more specific.
backup-1 came up so rmeden's suggestion has worked for ivsm on my three comp and im waitng to see if poopli concurs. all u need to do jean is the same way poopli got restarted.


BUT I STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO??!!! CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE GIVE ME SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glenn1963 wrote:
There is a wirns.hosts file in the WiRNS folder, and an IVSProvider.hosts file in the WiRNS/Plugins folder, although it would surprise me if they weren't already configured.

There would be entries like this:

# RDDNS Backup Servers
rddns-production.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc

#
rddns-production.laho.percdata.com=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.laho.percdata.com=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.laho.percdata.com=backup-2.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.laho.percdata.com.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.laho.percdata.com=backup.rddns.cc

The .hosts files are all joined into one hosts list, so you shouldn't need to configure both wirns.hosts and IVSProvider.hosts.


The only WIRNS hosts file I found is a .sample file. It doesn't contain any of the info that you show above.

In the WIRNS/Plugins folder I found this IVS provider.hosts file:

#WiRNS Plugin Specific Hosts file
#Enter hosts that will be proxied to wirnsip
#
# format is host=ip
# if no ip or name, will use wirnsip, but must have = after all entries
# example:
# host.company.com=192.168.1.1
# or
# host.company.com=host.othercompany.com
# or
# host.company.com=

rddns-production.replaytv.net=
rddns-production.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc
# 4k requests
rddns-rns.replaytv.net=
rddns-rns.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-rns-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-rns-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc

Since I'm not using LAHO, I don't know if this is correct information or not.

Can you please advise?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my Wirns.host file (all lines with # at the head are comments)

#WiRNS Hosts file
#Enter hosts that will be proxied to wirnsip
#
# format is host=ip
# if no ip, will use wirnsip, but must have = after all entries
# example:
# host.company.com=192.168.1.1
# or
# host.company.com=
#
# NEW NAT support as follows:
# remote.public.ip=local.public.ip
rddns-production.replaytv.net=192.168.x.xxx (The IP address of my WiRNS computer)


This is my IVSProviders.host file.


#WiRNS Plugin Specific Hosts file
#Enter hosts that will be proxied to wirnsip
#
# format is host=ip
# if no ip or name, will use wirnsip, but must have = after all entries
# example:
# host.company.com=192.168.1.1
# or
# host.company.com=host.othercompany.com
# or
# host.company.com=

rddns-production.replaytv.net=192.168.x.xxx (My WiRNS PC)
rddns-production.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-production-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-production-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc
rddns-production-backup.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
# 4k requests
rddns-rns.replaytv.net=192.168.x.xxx (My WiRNS PC)
rddns-rns.replaytv.net=backup.rddns.cc
rddns-rns-1.replaytv.net=backup-1.rddns.cc
rddns-rns-2.replaytv.net=backup-2.rddns.cc

Now, someone will probably point out that there is a problem with the rddns-production.replaytv.net being assigned twice will cause a problem, but so far, it hasn't. Now in the interest of full disclosure, I do not use WiRNS for IVS Transfers as I prefer IVS Magic. However, my WiRNS system indicates that RDDNS server status just fine.

I would say if you copied each one exactly as they are posted here, your WiRNS 3.0 should work at least as well as mine does.

For what it's worth...

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixoda
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

734jeant: Here you go:
Step 1. Make a copy of the ivsprovider.host file located in \Wirns\plugins.
Just copy it to a different file name. This is your backup. With it you can be back where you started if something doesn't work.
Steo 2. Right click on ivsprovider.hosts file. Click edit. With Notepad
Step 3. Change the 2 instances of backup-2 to backup-1
Step 4. Save your changes
Step 5 Restart WIRNS

Did it work? Tell us. If it didn't tell us that too.

aa4hg
What do you solve by pointing requests of the rddns server back to the requesting pc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixoda wrote:
734jeant: Here you go:
Step 3. Change the 2 instances of backup-2 to backup-1

Also change backup to backup-1.

backup dns resolves to both hosts.. that's why it works half the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixoda wrote:

What do you solve by pointing requests of the rddns server back to the requesting pc?


I do not recall ever editing the file. This instance of WiRNs has been running for a couple of years now and is pretty much "stock". Not sure how that happened, actually, but when it ain't broke...

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixoda wrote:
734jeant: Here you go:
Step 1. Make a copy of the ivsprovider.host file located in \Wirns\plugins.
Just copy it to a different file name. This is your backup. With it you can be back where you started if something doesn't work.
Steo 2. Right click on ivsprovider.hosts file. Click edit. With Notepad
Step 3. Change the 2 instances of backup-2 to backup-1
Step 4. Save your changes
Step 5 Restart WIRNS

Did it work? Tell us. If it didn't tell us that


Thank you very much for the detailed instructions. They are exactly what I needed. I have made the changes and RDDNS status shows up. I'll let you know if that changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
nixoda wrote:
734jeant: Here you go:
Step 3. Change the 2 instances of backup-2 to backup-1

Also change backup to backup-1.

backup dns resolves to both hosts.. that's why it works half the time.


I did this, too. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that we got this working, Henry's brother has rebooted backup-2.rddns.cc so it's back up

Still trying to track down the owner of rddns.cc. Looks like it's not Henry!

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixoda
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Robert:
I don't know if this will help, but
Domain Name: RDDNS.CC
Registry Domain ID: 86889301_DOMAIN_CC-VRSN
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.godaddy.com
Registrar URL: http://www.godaddy.com
Update Date: 2015-05-06T09:49:22Z
Creation Date: 2005-12-02T18:23:25Z
Registrar Registration Expiration Date: 2016-12-02T18:23:25Z
Registrar: GoDaddy.com, LLC
Registrar IANA ID: 146
Registrar Abuse Contact Email: abuse@godaddy.com
Registrar Abuse Contact Phone: +1.4806242505
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited http://www.icann.org/epp#clientTransferProhibited
Domain Status: clientUpdateProhibited http://www.icann.org/epp#clientUpdateProhibited
Domain Status: clientRenewProhibited http://www.icann.org/epp#clientRenewProhibited
Domain Status: clientDeleteProhibited http://www.icann.org/epp#clientDeleteProhibited
Registry Registrant ID:
Registrant Name: Registration Private
Registrant Organization: Domains By Proxy, LLC
Registrant Street: DomainsByProxy.com
Registrant Street: 14747 N Northsight Blvd Suite 111, PMB 309
Registrant City: Scottsdale
Registrant State/Province: Arizona
Registrant Postal Code: 85260
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Phone: +1.4806242599
Registrant Phone Ext:
Registrant Fax: +1.4806242598
Registrant Fax Ext:
Registrant Email: RDDNS.CC@domainsbyproxy.com
Registry Admin ID:
Admin Name: Registration Private
Admin Organization: Domains By Proxy, LLC
Admin Street: DomainsByProxy.com
Admin Street: 14747 N Northsight Blvd Suite 111, PMB 309
Admin City: Scottsdale
Admin State/Province: Arizona
Admin Postal Code: 85260
Admin Country: US
Admin Phone: +1.4806242599
Admin Phone Ext:
Admin Fax: +1.4806242598
Admin Fax Ext:
Admin Email: RDDNS.CC@domainsbyproxy.com
Registry Tech ID:
Tech Name: Registration Private
Tech Organization: Domains By Proxy, LLC
Tech Street: DomainsByProxy.com
Tech Street: 14747 N Northsight Blvd Suite 111, PMB 309
Tech City: Scottsdale
Tech State/Province: Arizona
Tech Postal Code: 85260
Tech Country: US
Tech Phone: +1.4806242599
Tech Phone Ext:
Tech Fax: +1.4806242598
Tech Fax Ext:
Tech Email: RDDNS.CC@domainsbyproxy.com
Name Server: NS1151.DNS.DYN.COM
Name Server: NS2170.DNS.DYN.COM
Name Server: NS3132.DNS.DYN.COM
Name Server: NS4180.DNS.DYN.COM
DNSSEC: unsigned
URL of the ICANN WHOIS Data Problem Reporting System: http://wdprs.internic.net/
>>> Last update of WHOIS database: 2016-09-07T20:00:00Z <<<

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already did the whois and emailed the contact alias..we'll see if anyone responds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both servers up
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
TakeTheActive
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 786
Location: Central Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Who Currently Owns rddns.cc ? Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
Now that we got this working, Henry's brother has rebooted backup-2.rddns.cc so it's back up

Still trying to track down the owner of rddns.cc. Looks like it's not Henry!

Robert
na9d?

RDDNS Backup #2 IP Change
_________________
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge ergo High Post Count != High Knowledge
Sig LINKs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Who Currently Owns rddns.cc ? Reply with quote

TakeTheActive wrote:
na9d?


I think na9d ran backup-2 before Henry took it over.

My current guess is Lawrence "TheDreamer" Chen is the owner... or at least used to be and may know where it went. I few days ago I started sending messages to contact him. I hope to get a reply soon.

BTW, I should add on Friday Henry's brother helped me get a login on backup-2. So now I can reset it if it goes down. We now have people managing both backup.rddns.cc servers... so even if we don't get the domain we're ok as long as it keeps getting renewed.

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great news guys... I heard from TheDreamer and I'll be taking over the rddns.cc domain... so between that and having access to backup-2 now, we should be good going forward.

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 596

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well done Robert. I have tried contacting TheDreamer before myself, because I wanted to host an IVSTest here on planetreplay.com but never got a response.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
Great news guys... I heard from TheDreamer and I'll be taking over the rddns.cc domain... so between that and having access to backup-2 now, we should be good going forward.

Robert


My RDDNS shows down. Do we have access to all three servers now or still just backup-2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 567
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both must be down, wirns is out. it shows up if onlly ones out.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The backup-2 RDDNS service was stopped.. I restarted it.

I suspect there is a bug that causes a crash with a bad http request. It hit one server, then the other one, taking both down.

In a totally unrelated note, I started the transfer of the RDDNS domain name. There's a chance that can cause an intermittent outage... I can't change the DNS servers in advance.

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group