Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Scheduling recordings via DVArchive don't always work

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> DVArchive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:45 am    Post subject: Scheduling recordings via DVArchive don't always work Reply with quote

Ever since switching to WiRNS for the channel guide, DVA can't match some shows to the ReplayTV units when I select them to record.

I've narrowed it down to show or episode names that have certain special characters, like an apostrophe. This makes sense if the Replay and DVA are using different character sets.

However both the DVA and RTV are getting their guide data from the same WiRNS instance. This never happened with the DNNA mothership.

So, when this happens, I have to go directly to the Replay via a TV and enter the recording information. Not the worst thing, but still a bit of a hassle.

Does anyone know a configuration in WiRNS that might fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixoda
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its been quite awhile since I've used DVA. Is there a reason why you can't use WIRNS to schedule your recordings? The only hiccup I've found using this method is when a conflict in scheduling occurs. WIRNS can't over-ride an existing scheduled recording.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having problems viewing the channel guide with WiRNS. I set the time/date for a particular RTV and press "Jump" and nothing appears but the time headings and an "Execution time" message. The search feature works though. I understand that this is probably related to a mismatch in the RTV configuration settings, but they all look fine, and it isn't preventing the RTV from downloading the channel guide.

Also, I'm comfortable with DVA. It has the same limitation with conflicts, but I'm used to dealing with that. I also have a script that runs when DVA downloads shows which renames the file to identify which RTV recorded it, and the recording time, then it uses <touch> to set the timestamp on the files to the recording time. That way, I can sort the directories by show times.

Anyway, if WiRNS doesn't have any settings to synchronize the character sets between DVA and the RTVs, I'll just have to live with the occasional extra effort.

Thanks for the reply!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i use dva to set all my programs with no problems. maybe its a provider issue, ive got dtv.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think the provider makes a difference. I have two different locations, one uses DTV and the other has Fios. I see the problem at both places.

It's only for shows that have quotes in either the show or episode name, and that's a small number. I can live with it, but I just wanted to see if the character set in WiRNS was editable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ill try one with quotes and well seee.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just scheduled "the 5th wave" on 7abc at 4est.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this rec,d fine for me as usual even with the quotes.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
i just scheduled "the 5th wave" on 7abc at 4est.
From what I can tell from my TV guide, you recorded "Entertainers: With Bryon Allen", which had no episode name. And the show name didn't have apostrophes in it.

Try "America's Funniest Home Videos" at 7PM. I get the error from DVA from that show.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wouldnt u know, my rtvs are all busy at 7.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could just be something specific to ur setup that we,ll never find
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about Marvel's Agent Carter on ABC at 9pm ET.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tirebiter
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 13 Feb 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
What about Marvel's Agent Carter on ABC at 9pm ET.
Sorry, I've been away for a bit.

I've confirmed that trying to record shows using DVA which have quote character(s) in either the show or episode fields do not find a match on any RTV unit.

I have slingboxes on all the RTV units, so I just set up the recordings manually for those shows.

I prefer using DVA over WiRNS, mainly because the channel guide in WiRNS doesn't always work, but also because the WiRNS popup window is less efficient to use. DVA remembers settings between uses (recording quality, single/recurring recording, padding), which WiRNS resets to a default value each time.

I guess the RTV doesn't support letting the external program edit or delete existing recordings. Maybe they'll add that feature in the next release when they finally fix the double select bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tirebiter wrote:
Maybe they'll add that feature in the next release when they finally fix the double select bug.

Second quarter, if I remember correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 571
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

going to this again, i just was not able to set the real o'neals or marvel's agents of shield even though the slots were open. so theres is somthing odd there for sure. i wanted to get the real o'neals and when it said all 13 5ks were busy, i tested the other show too. same result.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> DVArchive All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group