Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trying to use WiRNS to update Replay channel guide #2
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
panardone
Just looking around
Just looking around


Joined: 26 Oct 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the example that Rob posted yesterday you will notice the sort order is "Title cs", "Episode cs", "Date", "Cat cs".

If you change the sort order to "Date" first with both "Desc" and "Group" checked, and then "Title cs", "Episode cs", "Cat cs" you will have the recordings listed by dates, newest date first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think I will be downloading any shows in a while. I'm stll working on getting the channel guide to go to the replays. I'm doing it manually in the SD configuration and I click on start update and look at all the days it's downloading, then go to the two replays to see if it went but not yet. I do the 243 zone and net connect on each replay and watch it on wirns untll it is finished. It downloaded two times last year but that was when I had two routers and found out here I was on two networks. Thaank you all for your help. I will get this figured out one day to see what I still have set wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't imagine having to do all the manual stuff that you have to do, I would never remember to do it.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I keep a copy of everything that it did and what time everyday for a week then I delete them. I also keep a copy of the view logfile for about a week. I think when my replays can see each other I will have it right. I haven't been able to see the bedroom shows on living room replay in about a year now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of the 243zone the way I have been doing it manually Glenn, should I try "Start Download Queue" from WiRNS Administration to get the channel guide to my replays by doing it from WiRNSAdministration to get the channel guide to the replays?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Start Download Queue" starts the download queue, but if you haven't queued any shows up to be downloaded later to WiRNS, it won't do anything.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Rob, I won't do that then and now I think I know what Queue means, used for downloading shows which I am not doing now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doing it manually now I do about 9 steps about 35min to a hour sometimes. Once I get it set right and see the guide goes to the replays without going to each replay now and have to do the 243 zone that will bring it down to about 3 steps 15 minutes. Then I will try to leave on one night and see if it does it all automatically. I know it won't do it autmatically until I get it going manual first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't you been doing it manually all along, which I guess is required if you mainly keep your WiRNS PC turned off.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I leave it on which I tred one time and it did not send the guide to the replays. That's why I figure if I get it do it manually from the start update in SD configuration it is suppose to go to the replays. It Last year it went to the replays about 2 days on one then one day on the other. They told me it was because I had two DHCP sererss that was why it didn't work. So now it poles the replays when I do it manually 243 zone on replays. The channel guide is suppose to go to the reaplays when I click on the update guide in SD configuration like the directions showed last fall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're willing to leave the WiRNS computer on all the time, just like you leave your Replays on all the time, you should be able to set things up so that everything works by itself. That's how I have mine set up.

Sure, you occasionally need to do some maintenance because, maybe, the PC rebooted or something, but for the most part, the PC will download the new guides from SD automatically and the Replays will grab it from the PC automatically, so I don't even need to think about it.

Plus, if you're recording a show that you don't want to watch right away, you can easily download the shows to the PC for storage so they don't take up space on your Replay. And furthermore, if you get the router setup for IVS, you can start having people send you shows. We have a handful of great people here who have TONS of storage on their WiRNS PCs and they record everything, so if you need an HBO show or something from Showtime, they've got it. We've even got one guy who gets stuff sent to him from the UK, Australia, Canada, etc and he then converts it to Replay format so he can share it. It's amazing, you really aught to try it.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I left computer on and it said on both replays had message on could not connect about 4:20am. lIke they did before. I will go back and look at your screenshots again. I know if I can manual update guide in SD configuration and if it goes to the replays it will work when I set like yours I still have have somethng wrong. Mine is set to connect about 4am in mornings now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're leaving the computer on now, PM me your info and I'll log on and take a look.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob, I just sent you pm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzbergie
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 10 Jul 2015
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been sick that past few months so have not been able to do port forwarding and other. My neighbor down the road says he has a friend that uses WiRNS and when he comes down on vacation he will have him look at my settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13
Page 13 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group