Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Best tools to edit out commercials?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> Replay 5K Tools
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:29 am    Post subject: Best tools to edit out commercials? Reply with quote

Are there any folks still around that edit out commercials from DVArchive files, without using some expensive video editing software?

First up I tried the standard r5k tools. I got it to work but for some reason it won't do the first edit correctly.

So, next I tried evtEdit but to be honest, once I had fired it up I had no idea what to do next. So if anyone uses this tool, I would like some advice.

Next I tried reVue and this looked the most promising as it let me set the break points in the video itself, rather that running the video on WMP and then writing the breakpoints down manually as I was doing with the r5k tools. However, once I was done, I noticed that there weren't any buttons to save the edited file or anything. Admittedly when I closed it asked if I wanted to save, which I did, and when I re-opened the file I could see that the blocks were still there, but I couldn't tell what to do next.

So, what do you guys use?
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use VideoReDo. I've found that it is a hugely useable editing program. It does cost about $100 for the version that will author DVDs, read and write H.264 and 4K video files (yeah, a little beyond RTV). And by the use of another program called Comskip, used as a post download batch file in DVA, VideoReDo will almost automatically edit the show. I never do that because it makes mistakes, but it gives you a graphical view of where the undesirable content is located, ie commercials.

I've used this set up for about 7 or 8 years now and so most of my library is commercial free, even from the commercial networks.

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may look into VideoReDo, but before I shell out $100 I want to try and get the home made tools working first.

Back to reVue, I had missed the readme.html before, so that helped but when I select "Create a new video" nothing happens, and I do have rtvtools and I have set the path to them.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't used Revue at all and really don't directly use RTV Tools that much, except for RTV Convert which isn't actually part of the RTV Tools package.

Also, there are cheaper versions of VideoReDo, however I use it quite a bit for numerous things and found the DVD Authoring capabilities necessary. I believe there is even a free version, but don't quote me on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a comment in the reVue forum where Ken said that he'd the create video option out of alpha 6, so I just reverted to alpha 5 and I can see that it's working, so I will continue to experiment.
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The alpha 5 version of reVue gives you the option of creating a new video, but the resulting video still contains the commercial breaks, so I'm giving up on that one.

I found another program yesterday, called Mpg2cut2, which did let me easily cut out the commercial breaks, but when I played the result back on my Replay, there were lip sync issues.

I do see a lot of folks recommending Womble and apparently you only need the MPEG VCR program, not the full suite, and as it's only $19 and comes with a free trial, that may be the way to go.

http://www.womble.com/products/vcr.html
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com


Last edited by The Robman on Mon Oct 26, 2015 3:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used Womble for a while. It worked fine. Switched to ReDo because I could do more with it. I had forgotten about Womble, actually.

Replays are pretty finicky about their video. It can easily get out of lip sync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does ReDo let you re-frame a video? Someone sent me this Australian Pink Floyd video which was recorded from Detroit's PBS station where they have both vertical and horizontal bars on it, so it would be great if you could zoom in to make it full screen, or at least eliminate the bars from the sides.

If you want to request the show yourself just so you can mess with it, it's incorrectly listed as "Pink Floyd Live: Pulse" ("whitebar" has it).
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aa4hg
Replay user
Replay user


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, ReDo TV Suite will allow you to crop or "zoom" in. If it is standard letterbox, a setting of 60 on all sides should do the trick. Not sure if the cheaper ones will do that. Or you can spend a lot of money on Adobe Premiere and do it a little easier. (I didn't think so).

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 604

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scott, would you be willing to send a show request to whitebar for the Floyd show and see if you can re-frame it, I'd like to see how it comes out.

I downloaded Womble MPEG-VCR and it does exactly what I want. At first, I was about to give up on it because there's no obvious way to save the edited video, and their help guide is useless. but I found this excellent guide online that solved the mystery:

http://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/video/edit-mpeg-womble.htm
_________________
Later, Rob
http://www.hifi-remote.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> Replay 5K Tools All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group