Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

understanding the EVT script

View previous topic :: View next topic  
brentnicholas
Almost hooked

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: understanding the EVT script Reply with quote

Hi,

So I've recently started using DVArchive, EVTDump and ReplayEdit. I've got it all worked out after a bit of troubles. Though the last thing I'm having a hard time with is the EVT.txt file scripting.

I ran EVTDump, but it didn't really do a good job. No big deal though, I'm a programmer anyway and prefer to write my own scripts.

What I don't understand however is the punch in and out points in the script.

For example, the script in the DOC's shows:

D:\video\Local_Guide> evtdump "Stargate SG-1 - Revisions.evt" > evt.txt
D:\video\Local_Guide> type evt.txt
FStargate SG-1 - Revisions.mpg
A000:51.147
D003:28.305
A005:34.156
A006:04.587
D017:48.467
A020:47.321
A021:17.452
D027:17.890
A029:18.122
A029:48.109
A030:28.228
D036:27.278

What I don't undsertand is... What's with the multiple A's?

What I wrote was: (<--- with notes)

FC:\DVArchive\DataFiles\Dungeons - Dragons.mpg
A000:00.000 <--- start of file
D004:39.000 <--- first commercial started at 4mins, 39secs
A007:33.000 <--- commercials end at 7mins, 33secs
D012:50.000 <--- commercials start again at 12mins,50secs
A017:22.000
D021:48.000
A024:12.000
D029:18.000
E

It seems logical to me but when run, the second group of commercials didn't drop out right. It seemed that the drop point was early and left a fair bit of commercials...

So:
1) Am I doing the in/out points correctly?
2) Are the times in minutes and seconds as I've scripted?