Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Poopli Setup
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> Poopli
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: Poopli Setup Reply with quote

Hi. I am long ReplayTV user and first time Poopli user. I have followed the wonderful sticky for setting up Poopli and have passed all the tests. I requested 3 shows which I see in Poopli as sebt and see the other users' RTV's in my received guide category but I don't see the actual shows. Do I have to setup anything in WIRNS or accept a request (or where to do it). Where will I see requests sent to me and can I auto accept them somehow? I am a little lost at this point.

Also what is the difference between IVS, Poopli, and IVSMAgic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

There are a couple ways to receive shows.

If you have Wirns set in IVS Configure to Auto Accept IVS sends, they will be automatically accepted, and the transfer starts. Ok, sounds easy but a few things to also be aware of.

The IP addresses of the Replays need to be open in your router firewall, as well as the Wirns PC. Your Router needs to forward the range of ports on your replays to the IP address of the Wirns. That should get you going.

If you don't want the Wirns to auto receive, and have the replays do that, you will need to accept manually on the replay that you selected as the receiving unit in the Poopli request.

I've had my Wirns and replays set up for quite a time, so may be missing a detail others may jump in with.

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IVS = Internet Video Sharing. The shorthand for how replays send shows back and forth.

Poopli = Is actually the son of Poopli, that is a website and database where members have replays share shows available for transfer to other members.

IVSMagic = Is an application, similar in function to what Wirns does to facilitate show sending and receiving.

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cliff, thanks for the help. I have followed these instructions and pass all the tests here: http://www.replaytvupgrade.com/old_poopli_help.htm

cliffcor wrote:
Hi,
The IP addresses of the Replays need to be open in your router firewall, as well as the Wirns PC. Your Router needs to forward the range of ports on your replays to the IP address of the Wirns. That should get you going.
Cliff


I have forwarded the IVS port to the ReplayTV IP address. When I try to also forward that same port to the WIRNS IP address, it gives an error: port conflict with another service. So do I forward the ports to the Replay or WIRNS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cliffcor wrote:
IVS = Internet Video Sharing. The shorthand for how replays send shows back and forth.
Cliff


Cliff, I sent you a show request. If you see an error message maybe we can troubleshoot it.

Brian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

u have to turn off the service using port 80 so wirns can have it. if u use dvarchive to serve shows to ur rtv turn off its server. wirns will do that too.😊
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cliffcor
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sent the show, but I'm traveling this week so my help is limited.

Some things to check:

Did the show appear in Wirns ivs tracker (I assume you have that checked in IVS configure)?
or did the show appear on the replay that you used the ID to request the show?

The IVS ID you used tested good, so in most cases either your replay or Wirns responded to the initial query.

You are getting there.

Cliff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cliffcor wrote:
I sent the show, but I'm traveling this week so my help is limited.

Some things to check:

Did the show appear in Wirns ivs tracker (I assume you have that checked in IVS configure)?
or did the show appear on the replay that you used the ID to request the show?

The IVS ID you used tested good, so in most cases either your replay or Wirns responded to the initial query.

You are getting there.

Cliff


The shows are there in the IVS Tracker in WIRNS showing 0%.

I donít run DVArchive. Do I need to forward port 80 to the WIRNS IP address? I didnít before and WIRNS works fine for serving the program guide.

Any other suggestions.

So close, yet so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sent the show u asked from me😊
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
I sent the show u asked from me😊


If I am running a software firewall, do I need to allow traffic through the IVS port?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was viewing the ReplayTV with IVS from a non-IVS Replay and it only showed the sending ReplayTV name under received in the guide. When I went to the IVS Replay I could see the shows and could select accept. However, they are still not transferring.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it should go thru wirns, that must be allowed. the dns of the the rtvs should read the same as wirns ip address. all rtvs and wirns seconday port should be ported at the gateway
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
all rtvs and wirns seconday port should be ported at the gateway


Can you explain what you mean by this? This may be my problem.

In my router I am forwarding the following
Replay TV IVS port to ReplayTV

Do I need to forward the WIRNS primary port or secondary port for DVArchive?

I noticed that not all my requests are showing up in the IVS Tracker and the last update is 1/26/2018.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still trying to get IVS setup on my Replay's. I can see the shows and they say transferring but all 0% complete. Not sure what else to try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.replaytvupgrade.com/old_poopli_help.htm
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://web.archive.org/web/20131127180006/http://www.poopli.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=816
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

configure Replay Application
for static IP, then add the MAC->IP address mappings in the
DHCP server.
Quote:
DCHP RESERVATION LIST
Device
Name MAC Address IP Address EDIT
192.168.1.151 00:0a:97:02:b5:64 192.168.1.151
in my gateway the rtv has the ip address as the device name because i did not add the rtv name.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k


Last edited by srfrdan on Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:21 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

all u need to know here:http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/483211-before-you-ask-read-faq.html. many other things here: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/ on avsforum as well.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
all u need to know here:http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/483211-before-you-ask-read-faq.html. many other things here: http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/ on avsforum as well.


Thanks Surfer Dan. This should keep me busy for awhile. I will report back what fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

best thing is DCHP RESERVATION and a port for each rtv in ur router or gateway. a gateway is the router and modem combo and rtv set to static address and its dns set to the ip of wirns which is the computer address. if u have laho the dns is their address. in ur rtv setup scroll to internet identity and address book and do what it says there. use the same port number as u put in the gateway. if it still dont work put that port open in the computer firewall. with wirns u dont need to. all those links boil down to whats here if u get this ur set. easy 😊😊😊
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

use this link to test ivs http://replaytvupgrade.com/cgi-bin/ivstest.pl
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
use this link to test ivs http://replaytvupgrade.com/cgi-bin/ivstest.pl


I used that IVS tester and it finds both Replay's setup with IVS.

These replays are connected to the router by a wireless access point. I wonder if there is a setting in the access point or firewall that is preventing communication.

I will try direct connecting them to the router and see if that works. I am running WIRNS and have the same ports opened on the RTV's and the router. I even opened them in the Windows firewall.

I am going to have to do some more troubleshooting. I am close those. I see the requests and can accept them but the transfer only shows 0%.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
best thing is DCHP RESERVATION and a port for each rtv in ur router or gateway. a gateway is the router and modem combo and rtv set to static address and its dns set to the ip of wirns which is the computer address. if u have laho the dns is their address. in ur rtv setup scroll to internet identity and address book and do what it says there. use the same port number as u put in the gateway. if it still dont work put that port open in the computer firewall. with wirns u dont need to. all those links boil down to whats here if u get this ur set. easy 😊😊😊


Yes, I have the DCHP reservation outside the range for my static IP address's including the RTV's. I will double check the DNS is set right for the Replay's but they should be since they are getting channel guide from WIRNS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

u have wirns opened at ur computer firewall and a secondary port opened in wirns with that port opened in ur router. http://wiki.wirns.com/ ....http://wiki.wirns.com/index.php/Configuration
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What ReplayTV software version are you running. I'm running 530511440. I believe this is the patched 144 version that was released when the ReplayTV software keys were released. Will this work with with IVS? In the avsforum posts, it said they was.

Patched 144 software
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/1345900-survey-replacement-replaytv-service-7.html

encryption key released
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/1342103-encryption-el-gamal-signature.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
u have wirns opened at ur computer firewall and a secondary port opened in wirns with that port opened in ur router. http://wiki.wirns.com/ ....http://wiki.wirns.com/index.php/Configuration


In WIRNS the primary web port is 80. So for this to work, I will also need a secondary web port in WIRNS and then open that port in the router and firewall? Does the secondary port need to be a specific number?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any number is good between 1000 and 65535. check to see wirns wiki for ivs.
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if this (internet identity and address book) link is part of the rtv setup menu it has ivs. the 5500 models dont and needed the modified patch. then that link appears in those setup menues too
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
srfrdan
Planet Master
Planet Master


Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 599
Location: jersey shore

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

encryption key released
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/1342103-encryption-el-gamal-signature.html this means nothing dont try anything there
_________________
my poop at srfrdanu1 4k*5k
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bri4jenn
Replay fan
Replay fan


Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

srfrdan wrote:
encryption key released
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/27-replaytv-showstopper-pvrs/1342103-encryption-el-gamal-signature.html this means nothing dont try anything there



I think I traced the problem to my wireless bridge that my Replay's are connected to. Though I do not have a fix yet.

My connections:
I have a Netgear WNDR4500 (N900) wireless router setup with a subnet of 192.16.1.1. I have the D-Link DAP-1525 operating in bridge mode to connect two DVR devices that do not have wireless so they connect to the DAP-1525 through its ethernet ports. On the two DVR's I've setup static IP Addresses that are outside the router's DHCP range (192.168.1.40-192.168.1.100). In the router I reserved those IP addresses with each of their corresponding MAC addresses. I have the DAP-1525 setup as a static IP address 192.168.1.6 with its MAC and IP address reserved in the router. It is running firmware 1.02. When everything is connected and I check the list of connected devices in the router, it only shows one of the DVR's as a wireless device with the MAC of the bridge showing next to it. It does not list the other DVR. The one not listed has connection issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> Poopli All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group