Planet Replay Forum Index Planet Replay
The Destination for ReplayTV Owners and TV Enthusiasts
Back to the home page
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   7 days of topics7 Days  30 days of topics30 Days  MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RDDNS status down
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
The backup-2 RDDNS service was stopped.. I restarted it.

I suspect there is a bug that causes a crash with a bad http request. It hit one server, then the other one, taking both down.

In a totally unrelated note, I started the transfer of the RDDNS domain name. There's a chance that can cause an intermittent outage... I can't change the DNS servers in advance.

Robert


My HOSTS file is pointing everything towards only Backup-1. My DNS is still showing down. Should I re-write the HOSTS file so that it points to Backup-1 and Backup-2 now?

Are both backup servers working(unless hit by the bug)?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

734jeant wrote:

My HOSTS file is pointing everything towards only Backup-1. My DNS is still showing down. Should I re-write the HOSTS file so that it points to Backup-1 and Backup-2 now?

Are both backup servers working(unless hit by the bug)?

Yes, we currently have control of both "backup" rddns servers.

Soon we'll have the domain too.

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still showing my RDDNS down. I have changed my HOSTS file back to the original one so that it will go to backup-1 and backup-2.

When I check my IVS on the Lunatic Haven site, that is down, too.

Are there other settings that I should be checking?

Please be specific with your replies as to how to fix this. I'm a NEWB, with a capital N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: My RDDNS is now up. As is my IVS.



734jeant wrote:
I'm still showing my RDDNS down. I have changed my HOSTS file back to the original one so that it will go to backup-1 and backup-2.

When I check my IVS on the Lunatic Haven site, that is down, too.

Are there other settings that I should be checking?

Please be specific with your replies as to how to fix this. I'm a NEWB, with a capital N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI.. RDDNS.CC will probably go down today as the domain transitions to me. Should be back once I have a chance to fix it.

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RDDNS.CC transfer is completed. Let me know if there are any problems.

Thanks Dreamer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
734jeant
Replay junkie
Replay junkie


Joined: 28 Jun 2011
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmeden wrote:
RDDNS.CC transfer is completed. Let me know if there are any problems.

Thanks Dreamer!


My RDDNS status has shown down for the past 2 days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WiRNS.com reports Ryan's server is down. I'll ping him.. in the mean time I've updated DNS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmeden
Replay elitist
Replay elitist


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I have a question for those who know how RDDNS works...

I assume the ReplayTV devices access "rddns-production.replaytv.net".

What do they do when that host is down? I think there are names 'rddns-backup, rddns-backup1, etc'. Are those just placeholder names on our side that the ReplayTV devices never actually use?

Does WiRNS access the RDDNS server or does it just replace DNS lookups?

rddns.cc used to point to both of our RDDNS servers, yet people would report "RDDNS is down" when just one of the RDDNS server is down.

Now I'm wondering if that's a bad idea. Pointing RDDNS.CC to two hosts seems to double the downtime as it's unusable if either host is down. If that's the case, I'm better off just putting one host at that name. (backup hostnames would still be there of course)

So, who's the RDDNS expert?

Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Planet Replay Forum Index -> WiRNS All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Planet Replay topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group